Friends of Bishops’ House
Bishops’ House is the best surviving and most charming example of a timber framed house in the City of Sheffield, England. It is open to the public each Saturday and Sunday from 10am until 4pm, so please come and visit! Located at the top of Meersbrook Park, it was once a farm surrounded by fields. The House was built in the sixteenth century, around the time two members of the Blythe family became Bishops, hence the name, but their historical connection with the House is unconfirmed. In 1886 ownership passed to the Sheffield City Council and various recreation department employees lived in the house until 1974. It is a Grade II* listed building and has been open as a museum since 1976.
In April 2011 a voluntary organisation, Friends of Bishops’ House, took over management of public opening of the house on behalf of Sheffield City Council who have continued to maintain the building. Since then the house has benefited from a new lease of life with a wide range of events and activities taking place. The Friends are committed to:
- Maintaining and developing public access to the house,
- Protecting and conserving the building for future generations to enjoy.
- Developing Bishops’ House as a museum where the community can learn about the history of the house, the locality and its connection with the wider history of Sheffield.
Norton Lees Lane